Family of Parishes


    With the approval of Bishop Fabbro, we are pleased to announce that our new Family name is
    Sarnia Bluewater Roman Catholic Family of Parishes.
    A Family of Parishes hotline has been set up for parishioners to reach out and ask questions or voice their concerns. Please call 519 336-2653 ext. 22 to leave your name, phone number and brief message or question and a member of the Transition Team will return your call.
    QUESTION: Will our parishes keep their name?
    Yes. As a Family we will be called Sarnia Bluewater Roman Catholic Family of Parishes but each parish will keep its identity and Canonical name
    QUESTION: How many priests will we have?
    Five priests will be assigned to our Family. Rev. Brian Jane will be the Pastor of the Family.       Rev. Anthony Eboh, Rev. José Montepeque and Rev. Jan Burczyk will serve as Associate Pastors and a 5th priest will be assigned by the Diocese to serve the Family. The Pastoral staff also includes Deacon Lyle LaLonge, Deacon David Robertson, Deacon Chris Stoesser, Deacon David Cummings and Lay Ecclesial Ministers Leanne Moran and Leonia Downie.
    At this time, a logo is being designed to represent the Family of parishes. The Pastoral Team, Staff, the Transition Team and the Finance Committee are meeting regularly to make recommendations to ensure all the parishes’ needs are met.
    Information will continue to be posted and updated in your parish’s bulletin and on your parish’s website.
    Please continue to pray for the guidance of the Holy Spirit as we come together as a family.
    Family of Parishes – Volunteers Needed
    The Family of Parishes in Sarnia is composed of Queen of Peace, St. Thomas d’Aquin, Our Lady of Mercy, St. Joseph, St. Benedict, Sacred Heart, and St. Michael. Things are well under way for this new Family to become a reality effective July 1, 2021. 
    The Family of Parishes is looking for volunteers to participate on the following committee:      
    Finance Council
    There will be one finance council for the family of parishes with a minimum of one representative per parish. The finance council will oversee and monitor financial results of parishes in the family. It is a consultative body that provides counsel to the pastor of the parishes.
    We are looking for parishioners, from Sacred Heart and St. Michael, with sound financial understanding and backgrounds to represent their individual parishes.
    If interested in either of these committees please contact your respective parish offices or email me, Chris Doyle, at


    Diocese Info Handout: Click HERE

  • Parish Representatives

    Our Lady of Mercy, St. Joseph,
    St. Benedict Parish Cluster:

    Fr. Brian Jane; Fr. Anthony Eboh
    Leonia Downie
    Jay Stewart, Katherine Stoesser
    Bill Nelson, Chris Doyle
    Andrew Jones, Annie Ferrera

    Sacred Heart, St. Michael
    Leanne Moran,
    Stella Burns, Amanda Cimetta
    Steve DeGurse, Scott Kellett

    St. Thomas d'Aquin
    Fr. José Montepeque
    Deacon David Cummings
    Armando Notte, Sylvie Chmielewski
    Regina Croskery

    Queen of Peace
    Fr. Jan Burczyk
    Mark Roehler, Roman Norejko